Planning Commission to be called Neeti Ayog

Planning Commission, which was established in 1950, has been renamed Neeti Ayog. The decision comes nearly three weeks after Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi held consultations with Chief Ministers at a meeting where most favoured restructuring of the Socialist era body but some Congress Chief Ministers opposed disbanding of the existing set-up.